Archive for October, 2008

Another photographer scam?

Saturday, October 25th, 2008

I usually don’t report on scams because there are so very many and most of them are easy to spot. I received a request the other day citing a review of a portfolio I have online and a selection to be a photographer at an upcoming fashion show allegedly held by We Select Models (www.weselectmodels.com).

I responded with interest and got the following response. It certainly has all the earmarks of a scam. Exicted language, all caps emphasis, poor grammar/English, large amounts of cash, a fee, a request for personal information, etc.  I usually look on the web to find out if anyone else has reported on this, but initially didn’t find anything until I used the search keyword “weselectmodels”, then I got some hits.
Here’s the text I received back. I’ve inquired with www.weselectmodels.com to verify this as a scam or not. I’ll report back what I find out even though I know what the response will be.

We Select Models Online
Birmingham
United Kingdom
B5 4BU
http://www.weselectmodels.com
+447031894938

Hello ,
Thank you for your message, I am bringing to your notice on the upcoming Fashion Show organized by We Select Models Agency, United kingdom.  This is our first Expo, we are in search of MODELS, DANCERS, ACTORS, ACTRESSES and  PHOTOGRAPHERS. We have properly inspected your profile and we feel you are good enough to work as a Photographers in the Fashion Expo.

This EXPO starts from October 31st to November 4th, 2008 in London, United kingdom. This EXPO is organized as an Indoor Show and not announced to the public and not also publicized online because this is one of the first and we don’t want too much awareness to the public for now, so its strictly for invited Guest. Various Designers, Agencies and Firms would be present, including MODELS,  ACTORS, ACTRESSES, PHOTOGRAPHERS from different part of the World. This would give you opportunities to show your talents and equally expose you to big Modeling Agencies and Art Firms that would be present.

MODELS, DANCERS, ACTORS, ACTRESSES and PHOTOGRAPHERS would be paid a total sum respectively;
Model- £6200.
Dancers-  £3310.
Actors and Actresses- £6010.
Photographers- £5140.

All Travel Expenses, Food and Accommodations/Hotel to the Fashion Show would be covered by We Select Models Agency. MODELS, DANCERS, ACTORS, ACTRESSES and PHOTOGRAPHERS are required to pay a compulsory “Expo Reimbursed Fee” of £150 (Note this is not an upfront payment but a Fee made compulsory for this Expo to make it Tax Free and no additional Charges would be required of any sort or reimbursed).

Provide me with the following details, so that you would be registered for the Fashion show, you would also receive your Hotel reservation confirmation and Flight ticket from your location;

Full Name:
Street Address:
City/state/zip code:
Country:
HOME & MOBILE PHONE:
NEAREST AIRPORT:
HEALTH INFORMATION:
Occupation:
Age:
Sex:

Once you provide me with these details, you would receive your Hotel reservation confirmation and your Flight ticket. I would love to hear from you soon.

Crystal Bentley

Bogus tour request scam

Friday, October 17th, 2008

Today I received the following email:

Hi

I want you to prepare a five[5] days tour program in your facility for my Clients.They are From Jordan Island and shall be touring round your state and some other place in your country.they re coming to your country for their vacation.
They are just 2 couples.

Mr & Mrs Marcint
Mr $ Mrs Lucerles

Arrival date: 10th Dec 2008
Departure date :15th Dec 2008
Number of days: 6 days
Number of Guest: 4
Confirm availability and get back to me with your rates and total cost so that i can give you my credit card details for a deposit payment.

George Moore
email = georgemoore_2014@yahoo.gr  

Suspecting a scam, since I usually receive these requests through my contact page, I checked the header information of the email and discovered, in addition to the original MSN email address (georgeme.d@msn.com) that appeared in the FROM field, the reply to address is the one appearing at the end of the email, shown above.

Also, the message was sent to one of my email addresses but listed a second email address of mine in the header.
A quick Google and I found several references to this scam. They are getting tricky, these guys.

What the Duck

Sunday, October 12th, 2008

Check out all the “duckness” at www.whattheduck.netWTD553.gif

WTD551.gif

WTD552.gif

WTD575.gif

WTD541.gif

Corporate Image Trolling - Update

Friday, October 10th, 2008

Good Morning America this morning had a story on corporate image trolling I posted about a few days ago. Specifically, the story mentioned a couple instances of Virgin Mobile and ESPN taking photos from Flickr without permission or compensation to use in advertising campaigns. In the Virgin Mobile case, the photo was of a young woman, I believe under 18, so the image was used without a model release as well as of a person not of legal age. A model release signed by the parents was necessary for this use.

The story is Here.

The one thing GMA didn’t mention in the piece is the two ways to designate permissions (or lack of) attached to uploaded images on Flickr. You can indicate the images have a Creative Commons license which allows limited free use (commercial use is not included, however) or require express permission to use in any way.
I’ve always advocated placing an identifying watermark on image files uploaded to the web (personal sites, sharing sites, portfolio sites, wherever your image files will be seen and available to someone to right-click and download). This provides three basic “protections”:

1. The watermark, if large enough, can be very difficult to remove except by the most ardent image thief (which also provides proof if it is removed that the theft was willful and intentional).

2. The watermark notifies potential “users” that you as the image owner understand your rights, you know your image is not up for grabs and, if infringed upon are likely to take action against infringers who feel they can take images from the web and use them without compensation.

3. The watermark also identifies the owner of the image so a company or individual is more likely to be able to contact you if they would like to license the image or purchase a print.

Every digital image file has the capacity for the image owner to embed “metadata” into the file. This is information such as a copyright notice, owner contact information, title, keywords, description, etc. This embedded data is important for identifying the owner of the image, stating copyright and usage restrictions and/or permissions, searching for images using keywords or descriptions, identifying the subject(s) and subject matter of the photograph or image through an embedded description or caption. Flickr, unfortunately, is one of several online sharing portals that strip this image data from your files when uploaded (to save space, they claim). So, without a visible copyright or identifying statement on the photograph, there is no way someone can identify your images as being owned by you.

The recent passage by the Senate of Orphan Works legislation (the House has yet to approve a bill)
SAA Orphan Works Blog

Ars Technica

makes embedding identifying information into digital files, creating visible watermarks, and other protections for your images that much more important. Locating infringers in this time of global use is a monumental task and is often discovered by chance. I’m not advocating overprotectionism, only an increased awareness of the marketplace and caution when placing images on the web for viewing. If nobody cares, the trolling for images by corporations will continue. If people are educated and protect themselves and their images from unfair use, at least the trolling might be kept to a background noise level.